The Time is at Hand for a Agent/ Publishers search.

Writers…this is not a promo or commercial for my book. It’s writer’s musings while writing first draft.

 

All I want is for my story and the ballpark but the consistent consensus of my 10-neurologist ‘brain trust’ on answers to things like ‘What are my chances of getting this?’ to get out there.

I didn’t want to put pressure on myself by going after an agent/publisher before the first or second draft of my book  was written w/bibliography and footnotes.

I didn’t graduate from Stanford and sure didn’t major in English Lit which would have helped. I did, however, take a boatload of journalism classes and still have the notes.

From research I learned Tardive Dyskinesia is not only a side effect of antipsychotics but EVEN antidepressants, ADHD meds, Lithium, Depakote too! All these meds are good, solid meds..I’m not demonizing them. That’s been done to death.

Just like the opiate epidemic, it’s not really about the drugs…..it’s the suppression and lack of knowledge.  Just like the opiate war, it’s not a battle to be won overnight.

This is the first book on this side effect. It is or will become an important general health issue.

Tardive Dyskinesia ‘prevalence’ doubled in the space of three years. 500-700,000. No longer an ‘Orphan’ disease.

I didn’t exactly know the content and flow until I started working on my bibliography., (Which presently is 20 pages long).

What I have now is a halfway done first draft, footnotes and 3/4 done MLA bibliography with another new thing I learned ‘Department of Index’ (DOI) links.

.But the book still feels like ‘All Talk.’ I want it to be ‘for real,’ a deal sealed w/academic or indie press. I truly don’t want to self publish a shoddy book. I’m in over my head. I will if I have to……but gosh….I could just put it on my blog like I’m doing now.

I wish for a paperback to be available so people can hold it in their hands and see they are not alone.

I see the support I need to perfect things like formatting, developmental editing, punctuation and form of my bibliography, (which includes books, websites, dates of retrieval and press releases)… cover design, legal vetting, promotion and distribution….yada yada.

I know I need a partner.  Let other people help me out of their own self interest.  Either a pharmaceutical company pamphlet or a renegade book published by an indie or academic press. Royalties go to a 501C.

There are many people who would like the world to be better educated on the permanent side effect of Tardive Dyskinesia, a  61-year-old syndrome that’s been bullied into the broom closet because it’s scary to think about, affects patient compliance and overall, very bad for the lucrative antipsychotic business.

 

Leave a Reply

