Comedy as Therapy

gainesvilletwo

 

Even if I’m the only one to get the joke. It still works wonders. There is this guy who blogs for bphope.com, where I blog. His name is Dave Mowry and he self published a  book “No, Really, We Want You To Laugh” and it’s about a movement called SMH, “Standup for Mental Health.”

So the next thing I know, I’m going through my pile of ‘possibles’ possible stories, and marking some of them with a big black sharpie H, for humor. Then I wrote a humorous blog for my editor. She did NOT get the joke. It was called “Bipolar Disorder: I’ll fight your battles if you fight mine” and I had this one bit about how we all have different brain chemistry. “If I take your antidepressant, it might put me to sleep! I love sleep. It’s especially helpful when I’m operating heavy machinery, like my tractor.

” I’ll have to see how your antidepressant affects me before I text on my cell,” My publisher was NOT amused. I still think it’s funny, I just don’t know what to do, how to retool and resend it somewhere.

Any ideas fellow writers?

Leave a Reply

