The Fate of HBO’s “Vinyl” produced by Mick Jagger/Martin Scorcese

It’s not looking good for Vinyl. Which sucks. Totally great show. Hard to watch but then so was House, M.D. The magazine Vanity Fair said the project had been kicking around since the late 80’s in the imagination of Mick and Martin.

Another critic said the show is full of pastiche, a shoddy imitation. ‘Surface,’ ‘Superficial’ or ‘representational’ as opposed to being AUTHENTIC. I totally disagree. There were so many of us how could we be ‘real’ with everyone?  Record company guys, by nature, had to be full of shit. And we radio decision makers who chose the songs or were strongarmed into playing them….we were just as full of it. Looking back, I know I was. I enjoyed being pandered to and pampered completely.

Allison Strong's photo.

5 thoughts on “The Fate of HBO’s “Vinyl” produced by Mick Jagger/Martin Scorcese

    • usually I can watch reruns especially a story about certain things in the music industry that predate me a little. Like I LOVE the New York Dolls and The Sex Pistols and Johnny Thunders, all of whom personified the political and personal unrest with songs like “God save the Queen” and “Personality Crisis.” (worth a listen if you like uptempo hit rock songs..should have gotten massive airplay but before its’ time.)…But I can’t watch these reruns. There’s no one to like. They’re all backstabbers etc. But hey, wait…House of Cards lead characters are all backstabbers and worse, so why is it that I can watch those reruns with glee? I don’t know exactly what makes a show click but I think they are going to do a second season because they made personnel changes with Terence Winter stepping down. I’m liking the first two chaps of your book. How did you learn to write third person? You’ll never believe this, a girl from the UK who has tardive dyskinesia contacted me about writing a book and she’s a writer professionally and has it too!!! It would probably benefit the book to be marketed and pushed from two continents.

      Like

      • I agree about Vinyl and HOC. I love HOC. Kevin Spacey makes Frank Underwood a guy you love to hate. Thanks for the kind words on the book. I learned to write 3rd person by reading others that do it well. I was told early on to avoid ‘head hopping’, but then I read Stephen King, Harlan Coben, John Grisham… They all do it. Why not me. Congrats on the writing gig.

        Like

      • seems like first person takes place over a shorter amount of time. (Catcher, Diary Mad Housewife, Jo Nesbo series) maybe I need to read Gatsby again. My memoir I want to be a 7 year period. Hollywood. Friends and their fates). (one of them married a SNL star who starred in talk radio, relapsed and pulled a murder suicide on him when he filed for divorce-true story). How Can I NOT write that?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

