There’s another side to me…art therapy w/jewelry and cooking and more

pompano

 

If you have been following this blog for a while you might think I’m married to a life of battle against the ‘powers that be.’ Back when I was on Tumblr I posted a lot about my lighter side, jewelry making, pilates, and gourmet cooking, one of my passions. We have this store in town called Penn Dutch. They have the best, most highly trafficked (this makes for fresher fish because it’s always being replaced by new hauls) fish counter I’ve ever seen. Yesterday they had 9 Oz LobsterTails from South America, not Australia. They carry a Brazilian fish called Branzino that I’ve never heard of.

Yesterday I bought a fish native to here, South Florida, called Pompano. (pictured) it’s only 6.99 a pound, you purchase the whole fish and get two 6oz filets out of it. They filet it for you. What I do is buy coconut milk, fresh mint, and chili paste. I add more splenda to the mixture and heat it up. Then I put dissolved cornstarch in it and pour it over the fish and put it in the oven. I make steamed vegetables and rice, and the extra coconut milk sauce goes good over both. Mike my husband really likes this.

I had to stand at a fish counter with a number tag in my hand for 1/2 hour as this store is crowded. But that’s what makes the fish counter so fresh. Nothing sits there very long.

 

4 thoughts on “There’s another side to me…art therapy w/jewelry and cooking and more

  1. That sounds so good! Really good cooking is such an art; I admire that. I cook, but only straight from directions; crockpots mostly. I look forward to reading more about you as “Bipolar Light!”

    Like

  2. I find cooking to be therapeutic activity for me; I cook about 3 or 4 times a week. It’s nice knowing that others feel that it helps them as well. My husband loves it when I cook as well. However, the smell of fish makes him sick, so I only get to cook/eat fish when we’re not together (which isn’t often). But he is extremely supportive of all my mental health needs, so I’m more than happy to meet his needs as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

