I want to Take DBT

beamie

I’m trying, goddamit!

 

I started blogging with Tumblr. I got hundreds of follows right off the bat. Many in the eating disorder community. Then I switched to WordPress without knowing anything. Somehow this led to me researching and writing a story on something I used to be cynical about (who, me, cynical? No, tell me it’s not true! hahah) The DBT class is held at the outpatient facility of the public hospital in this area. It’s called “Rebel’s Drop In” and is part of the reason why my blog has that theme.

Anyway, there is a long running personality problem with the gal that runs it. I wrote a flattering article about her place and she said stuff that I wrote down. My deadline loomed and when she was on vacation I emailed her two versions. She used her Mindfulness as a weapon and attacked me for bombarding her with emails. Hurt, I stopped asking her for information or offering her final editoral approval. (Sean Penn had given Chapo final editorial approval and apparently it’s a no no) Anyway after she attacked me for sending multiple versions to her for her approval I just backed off. I took her name out of the story as well as the center, the donor’s name and the hospital system if’s affiliated with. When I saw her later she said she was really unhappy with the whole experience and it was the most bizarre that she’d ever had. She still won’t speak to me and she’s the project director as well as one of the DBT therapists.

The only thing between me and DBT is money and this woman.

 

I want to take it. Does anyone know what the copay?

 

I did a research story on it for NewLifeOutlook Bipolar read the original book CBT by Linehan and think it could help me with certain faulty thoughts and fear/guilt driven behavior that results in misplaced priorities, loads of stress, Etc.

2 thoughts on “I want to Take DBT

  1. I’ll do some more investigating for you. I already found out that the Mindfulness portion is just that. A portion of the full DBT instruction. Full course and all included usually is 14 to 16 wks./a couple hrs. each wk. Hard to find fully trained clinician hare in south Florida. The sesrch continues!

    Like

  2. I’ve already done a little investigation on DBT. posted once but think i hit wrong button & lost instead of post. Too long to rewrite now but will give you info lraened thus far when we speak again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

