I’m asking your opinion if you have time could you answer?

vera1999AllisonBlackandWhite

cropped-jamesclearer.jpgf

Should I change my photo rom the current photo on the left, switching to the one up above on the left or up above on the right, leaning into my hand?

Which is better for my blog, “Bipolar Strength: Rebel With A Cause?”

I’m still a rebel but I stand FOR things, not against them. My friend has helped me see this, so I’m modifying my blog to reflect it.

My name is Allison Strong. I used to be an outspoken, highly rated female (obviously), alternative disc jockey, a continuation of a music scene that defied the status quo, sometimes to good effect.

It was an era when we could talk about depression. I even had a regular guest named “the cemetery guy” and people absolutely loved him!

My boss wasn’t sure about it but when he saw my ratings spike, it decimated every preconceived notion he had about what made ‘good radio.’ People were ok with the dark side. The ratings bore that out.

 

People won’t admit it but want a good image. That’s why I went with something professional, obviously contrived. But it was a mockup of the late movie star James Dean, and his titular film “Rebel Without A Cause.” That’s why I went with the wifebeater T shirt one.

I want to show rebellion and questioning the status quo, doing things like researching medicines and their side effects before taking them, instead of doing what I did, blindly loading up on high doses of certain meds that had permanent neurological side effects.

 

It is what it is. I’m not angry about it anymore but want to ‘clue in’ the next generation of people getting an automatic bipolar disorder diagnosis and given a set of meds to take without question. It might not be so easy to get off them as it was to go on.

You can actually go online and google a med and the one in its’ class with the most class action lawsuits for a particular side effect, well you can add 2+2 or you wouldn’t be reading this right now. If I’d only have known.

So what do you think? Stay with Wifebeater and the darkness or pick the LOLOL laugh my head off shot or another professional smiley commercial headshot?

What is best? I’m having a hard time giving up the James Dean image. It’s a tough call. But I am modifying my name.

Allison

aka bipolarbrainiac

 

20 thoughts on “I’m asking your opinion if you have time could you answer?

  1. THE ONE WITH YOU LEANING INTO YOUR HAND WITH SWEATER/COWL NECK- YOU LOOK GORGEOUS AND PROFESSIONAL ALLISON!!!!!!! sorry to flake on emails – I have 3 I need to reply to – at least – I’ve been totally overwhelmed with my daughter (behavior issue that had me meet with a parenting expert for 2 hours yesterday) 4 hours sleep a night, hypo, and getting back on Facebook & promoting the article to the point of crazy town. Are we Facebook friends??? Please friend me!

    Like

  2. I’m helping a good friend whose amazing Dad just died find a job. He left his job of 10 years and he has 2 kids. His wife works but he needs to work too – it’s eating up a lot of my time, but worth it. I don’t have a lot of friends so I value him & his wife, plus they have been there for our family in a huge way during most of my 7 visits to the dog kennel, I mean looney bin. Or nut house. Gotta joke about it or else I really will go crazy. Crazier.
    XOXO I WILL get back to you

    Like

Leave a Reply

