David Bowie showed me how to Be an artist: Be Myself!

youngamericans

My favorite album was the above—1970’s R&B, Influenced, Soul Tinged

“Young Americans”

I can’t express my grief. I knew David Bowie had just released another innovative album and now he’s gone. Well, I guess we’ll have something to remember him by. His courage and constant reinvention of himself and his music always inspired me.  He dared to be different and gave me the A ‘Ok to do the same. He wasn’t afraid of being rejected for his assortment of characters like Ziggy Stardust and The Thin White Duke. He didn’t care if the music critics panned his albums, as long as he knew he was doing something new that had never been done before. Bowie taught me how to be an artist: To be myself.

Leave a Reply

