The Passing of Stone Temple Pilot’s Scott Weiland

Very similar to Nirvana’s late Kurt Cobain, Weiland was dual diagnosis and his lyrics could be unintelligible. Anyone remember that refrain in ‘Plush,’ where he goes,

“And I feel and I feel when the dogs begin to smell her, will she smell alooooonnneee?”

What the hell was that? It was pain and we all felt it. He was not as well known as Kurt but his demise is no less tragic to me, no smaller of a loss. I was rooting for him. I cried like a baby when I heard he was gone because I knew he struggled with legal issues and back and forth drug addiction. I thought that like Robert Downey Junior or even me, he’d be one of the ‘lucky’ ones.

For cryin out loud, Axel Rose is still alive, why not Scott? And now that I mention that, Scott Weiland had several falling outs with his band and one of his best known side projects, “Velvet Revolver” had two former members of Guns and Roses playing with him.

 

We know that cocaine was found near his body and that gossip publication,TMZ, was printing stories of his relapse into crack cocaine and alcohol. My legitimate question is, how would they know that? Were they smoking it with him? What also is known is that cardio problems run in his family, crack couldn’t have helped his health. As an exercise bulimic who used to live on the natural Chinese stimulant, Ma Huang, I incurred heart health issues. Branch Block something or other. I have to wear a Holter monitor every year and then they tell me my abnormality falls within ‘normal.’ What I  do know is that I never had these issues before Ma Huang.

 

I picked up with Ma Huang innocently at a health food store in 2000 when I first was given Seroquel and gained weight so fast I panicked. Looking for a healthy way to suppress my appetite, I never dreamed Xenazine was bad for you until it was banned by the FDA.

All I know is that he’s gone and it makes me feel like my hold on life, mental health, sobriety etc is a tenuous one at best. If a giant tree like him falls in the forest, what does it mean for me?

6 thoughts on “The Passing of Stone Temple Pilot’s Scott Weiland

  1. Don’t base your life on someone else’s. You are someone completely different and just because of similarities in your life doesn’t mean it will end that way. I care about you.

    Like

    • I have one other bipolar friend, Clair, who went undiagnosed and alcohol to self medicate for many years, she had a health club/weight loss business with franchises, even had Madonna as a client. Well, with drink and hypersexuality etc from bipolar, she lost it all, even was making 200k a year, not bad for a woman who did not graduate from college. I am so glad to count you as a friend, Tessa, you have no idea. I sent you something in the mail. Momentarily I have to leave for monthly blood work for my Clozaril. It can kill ya (1% chance of mortality immune system prob called “Agranular Cytosis. If it strikes it kills within 2 weeks and nothing can stop it!!!!

      Like

      • Eek. We either let the drs treat us or self treat. I have self treated. Not smart. But then the drs luck out occasionally and find the right combo, but the side effects I try to ignore. If I know I am apt to “have” them.

        Like

      • I read a dual diagnosis article yesterday. I’m not like that anymore but I used to be. I got older I guess. His book, written by him, defended his drinking, what may have compromise treatment in a big way. Like a Hemingway or a Norman Mailer, he reveled in being a tortured alcoholic. If he never broke the chains of addictive behavior then he had no chance at all of living some semblance of a happy life.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

